Scam alert: Domain name owners

An MD Media Consulting client recently received the following email about their domain, which has been deemed to be a scam email. If you own a domain then you should read this scam alert to avoid this problem. You can also email the MD Media Consulting free advice service if you have any queries.An MD Media Consulting received the following email:

From: Angela [mailto:info@yg-network.org]
Subject: Notice of Intellectual Property-Trademark Name

 Dear Manager,

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Anhui , China . On March,4th,2011, We received HUNDI Company’s application that they are registering the name “[[INSERT DOMAIN NAME HERE]]” as their Internet Trademark and “[[INSERT DOMAIN NAME HERE.cn”,”[[INSERT DOMAIN NAME HERE.com.cn” ,”[[INSERT DOMAIN NAME HERE.asia”domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Kind regards

Angela Zhang

Anhui Office (Head Office)
Room 1008 Shenhui Building  
Haitian Road, Huli Anhui , China

Office:  +86 0553 4994789
Fax:     +86 0553 4994789
web:  yg-network.org
web:  www.yg-network.org

After further investigation, we discovered that other people (non MD Media Consulting Clients) had also received this email. We were able to determine that is was scam message reasonably quickly because:

  • The email says ‘Dear Manager,’ and is not addressed to the business owner
  • The email mentions that the business has a trademark, but it gives no more details
  • Notice of Intellectual Property-Trademark Name as the subject appears to conflict with idea of selling more domain names
  • The email mentions “As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you”. They have no such ‘duty’.
  • The email uses poor English but the author apparently understands how Australia trademarks and business names work

The email is attempting to scare readers into purchasing more asian domain names. While it is a good idea to buy as many domain names as possible if your brand is important to you (and you can do so here!), it is clearly not essential to stock up on asian domain names before someone else does. You be the judge and buy domain names in your own time.

Do not respond to this email and don’t hesitate to contact MD Media Consulting for help.

This entry was posted in Client News, MD Media Consulting News, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Scam alert: Domain name owners

  1. Anthony says:

    Thanks alot for this info, i got the same mail and almost fell for it… Thankyou.

  2. Paul says:

    It is one of the new originals doing the rounds. Along with the usuals. Thanks for info. Total rubbish.

  3. Frie says:

    I got this one aswell, now what are they going to use my name for in China i thought…needless to say with a quick internet search of the “HUNDI Company” i found out about this scam. Thanks

  4. Robert says:

    Yeah I got the same one yesterday, I thought why would they want to use my registered business name in China, so googled it and sure enough found you guys, doesn’t it make you mad, these lowlifes always trying to scam people

  5. Charis says:

    Yep, just got same exact thing. Pathetic losers with nothing better to do with their time! Thanks MD for supplying this vital info.

  6. John Penn says:

    Thanks for this info – I got the same scam and was about to reply when I googled Hundi – glad I did!

  7. Hi Guys, Just recieved one ourselves and alarm bells rang. One minute later Suspicions confirmed by you.
    Thanks.

  8. Lisa says:

    Just got this today as well – Googled ‘HUNDI Company’ which led me to this website. Thanks!

  9. David says:

    Thanks for that, I just recieved the same email

  10. Organic Kama says:

    I just received the same email but replied telling “Angela” that I was contacting Australian Government Business officials for advice. They also sent the same email to my brand designer who is not connected to my business other than being my designer. Glad I found this blog after typing HUNDI into google. it has put my mind at ease that it is indeed a scam so thank you very much!

  11. himanshu says:

    Thanks for sharing this information, I found same email today.

  12. Elle says:

    wow!!…..like everyone else, i thought it was weird but nearly fell for it before i googled HUNDI – glad i did, Thanks :) :) :)

  13. Rob says:

    As above nearly got sucked in, Thanks for the info.

  14. jonathan says:

    I just received this email. I google it under hundi china. Your link appear. Thanks for creating this awarness.

    this what i hve receieved today:

    Dear Manager:
    We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in
    Anhui, China. On July,28th,2011, We received HUNDI Company’s application that they
    are registering the name “trade product” as their Internet Trademark and
    “…..cn”,”……com.cn” ,”…….asia”domain names
    etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name
    been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to
    notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in
    China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep
    the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you
    object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand
    in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon
    as possible. Thank you!
    Kind regards
    Angela Zhang

    Anhui Office (Head Office)
    Registration Department Manager
    Room 1008 Shenhui Building
    Haitian Road, Huli Anhui, China

    Office: +86 0553 4994789
    Fax: +86 0553 4994789
    web: http://www.yg-net.net

  15. John says:

    Same again – thanks for the heads up

  16. Bruce Rogers says:

    I am the latest. Had me worried but I did a search and also found this blog. Thank you for sharing your info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>